Published on Friday 25 January 2019

Arts Council Malta has announced the list of nominees for the second edition of Il-Premju għall-Arti, the national arts awards which celebrate the achievements of the cultural and creative sectors

The award acknowledges excellence in artistic work premiered during the preceding year and are unique in their focus on culture and the arts.

The nominees were selected by a jury of sectoral experts and Arts Council Malta representatives from the nominations submitted through an open call. The winners of all the 11 categories will be announced at the Awards night, which will be held on the 16th April.

Meanwhile members of the public can participate directly by voting for their preferred production of the year through the People’s Choice Award. Voting can be done online through or by calling +356 27790740 and following the instructions given.

This year there are a total of 11 different categories and awards: Best work for young audiences;  Best project in the community; Best artistic programme or season; Production of the year; Best international achievement; Best creative enterprise; Young artists of the year; Artist of the year; Innovation award; Lifetime achievement and Audiences’ Choice.

The categories were selected according to Arts Council Malta’s strategic priorities as outlined in the Council’s Strategy2020, its five-year plan for the cultural and creative sectors.

This year a new category was also introduced: the Innovation award, which will seek to recognise the most innovative artistic project of the year based on the methodology of research, implementation, display and representation.

The Ambassador of the Arts award will be open for adjudication every three years, with the next appointment in 2021.

Winners will receive a prestigious award, a sculpture in glass and ceramic, by Maltese artist Kane Cali.

Now in their second year, the Awards have already become a yearly appointment for artists and all those involved in the cultural and creative sectors. Tickets for the award ceremony are available through

The first act announced for the awards ceremony is Marcin Patrzalek, an 18-year-oldsolo guitarist, arranger and composer winner of the biggest PolishTV talent show “Must be The Music” in 2015) and the Italian TV Got Talent show “Tu Si Que Vales” in 2018.

Il-Premju għall-Arti is an initiative of Arts Council Malta through the National Fund for Artistic Excellence within the Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government.



Best Creative Enterprise

Anvil Games Studios, Andrew Farrugia

Stargate Studios Malta, Matthew Pullicino

Innovation Award


Stargate Studios Malta

Raymond ‘Fight’ Beck

Andre Mangion

Magna Żmien

Andrew Alamango

Book in the Sea

Glen Calleja

Chant, Silence, Sounds & Spaces

Jubilate Deo Choir

Artist of the Year

New Victorians

Sean Buhagiar

Jean-Marc Cafa

Luke Azzopardi

Best Artistic Programme or Season

The Malta Jazz Festival 2018

Festivals Malta

ŻiguŻajg Arts Festival for Children and Young People 2017

Fondazzjoni Kreattività

The Valletta 2018 Cultural Programme

The Valletta 2018 Foundation

Toi Toi Education Programme

Teatru Manoel

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra Programme 2017-2018

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

Best International Achievement

The Black Hand


Holdfast: Nations at War

Anvil Games Studios

A Tale of Two Cities

David Pisani

Kirana, Soundscapes

Ruben Zahra

The European Tour of the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

Best work for young audiences

Kanta Kantun

Alex Vella Gregory and Charlo Briguglio in collaboration with the Valletta 2018 Foundation


Denise Mulholland and Luke Saydon


Pamela Kerr and Kostas Papamatthaiakis

Dare to Dream: MPO Family Funfare

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

Production of the Year

Ernest and the Pale Moon

The Shrinking Violets

The Valletta 2018 Opening

The Valletta 2018 Foundation


Denise Mulholland and Luke Saydon

A Hero’s Life

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

The Crucible

Teatru Manoel

Young Artist of the Year

Andre Agius

Nicola Micallef

Luke Saydon

Stefan Calleja

The Malta Youth Orchestra

Best project in the community

Ġewwa Barra: Il-Ħasla

Victor Jacono in collaboration with the Valletta 2018 Foundation

Magna Żmien

Andrew Alamango

Deep Shelter

Pamela Baldacchino in collaboration with the Valletta 2018

The Annual Representation of Opening Doors 2018

Opening Doors Association



Audiences’ Choice Award

Valletta 2018 Opening

The Valletta 2018

Ilħna Mitlufa

Teatru Malta


Teatru Malta

Il-Festa il-Kbira

The Valletta 2018 Foundation




Photo by Stephen Buhagiar